New to the forum? Say hello in this topic! Make sure to read the rules.
RULE NR 3 UPDATED: Don't hurt, harass or provoke other forum members or people.

StaggerInfinite Command Breaks the Game

Here you can find all solved gameplay problems and bugs (beginning from Pre-Alpha 1.8.8).
Forum rules
By using the forum you agree to the following rules. For this forum you also need to follow these additional rules.
Locked
User avatar
Wozenbelt
Superfighter
Superfighter
Posts: 140
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2016 6:35 pm
Title: MASTER OF MOVEMENT
SFD Alias: (LM) Wozenbelt
Started SFD: Pre-Alpha 1.1.1
Gender:
Contact:

StaggerInfinite Command Breaks the Game

Post by Wozenbelt » Mon Jun 19, 2017 11:54 pm

Making a CPU perform the 'Stagger infinite' command using the PlayerCommandTrigger breaks the game in separate ways depending on which way you load up the map. If done in regular play (e.g. hosting a game), SFD will simply crash.
It gets more interesting in the map editor; if done in the map editor (e.g. the 'Test Map' feature), the map will freeze ~3 ms and everything will be frozen but for the spinning, airborne CPU. After that, all you can do is exit the test run. However, you cannot test run any map once the bug is performed. You can delete the broken CPU, delete the broken map, and even test an official map. It simply won't work; your game will freeze immediately and you'll have to return to edit mode. Even if you exit the map editor, go into regular play (which will function properly), and come back, test runs will still be broken. The only true solution is to restart the game entirely.

But don't take my word for it! Try the map yourself!
SFDMaps Link here
(If the map hasn't shown up yet, it's because it hasn't been approved. Give it some time, or forget the map and take my word for it.)
7 x
i got wozen fever

User avatar
Gurt
Lead Programmer
Lead Programmer
Posts: 901
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2016 3:22 pm
Title: Lead programmer
Started SFD: Made it!
Location: Sweden
Gender:
Age: 27

Post by Gurt » Tue Jun 20, 2017 5:48 pm

Thanks for the detailed report. Fixed after Alpha v.1.3.3.
It turns out that the stagger infinite command revealed an old and nasty bug.
2 x
Gurt

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest